Character Post by Walter Hanborough, hero of Rhoda Baxter’s Girl In Trouble

Continuing my blog series which allows a character from a book to have their say. This time we have a post from Walter Hanborough, hero of Rhoda Baxter‘s novel Girl In Trouble.

51+hUF5E8xL

Over to Walter

Hi. My name’s Walter… Dr Walter Hanborough, really, but you can call me Walter. Everyone else does. I’m here to talk about the significant women in my life. There’s three of them. I love them very much, but in very different ways.

First up, there’s my mother. My Dad went off to sea and never returned, so Mum brought me up by herself. She’s … formidable, is the word people use. It must have been difficult being a single woman bringing up a young boy who was shy and preferred to have his nose in a book, but she did it. She’s amazing, my mum. Not afraid of anything. Well… apart from spiders.

The next person isn’t really a woman, not yet. My daughter Emily, she’s six. She’s gorgeous. I have a photo here if … um… right. Yes. Anyway, she’s my world. She looks like her mother, Charlotte, my ex-wife, but she’s got my eyes. Emily’s moving to the US with her mum and stepdad and I’m terrified she’d forget all about me and her life here. But Olivia says it’ll be okay. I can Skype her and things. Right? So, it’ll be fine. Totally. Fine.

The last, and most significant woman in my life is Olivia. You’d like Olivia. She’s gorgeous too, obviously. She’s got amazing legs and … this attitude – like she’s daring you disagree with her. My best mate thinks she’s prickly and scary. I thought that too, at the start, but once you get to know her, you realise it’s just an act. She’s been hurt in the past and she’s got this wall around her to stop her getting hurt again. She’s actually one of the gentlest, kindest people you’ll ever meet. Emily likes her.

When I first met Olivia, I was in a bad place. Charlotte (Emily’s mum) had just told me that she was moving Emily to America … and I felt like I was going to lose my baby girl forever. Olivia was the one who stopped me freaking out about that. I did something stupid and nearly lost Olivia a few months ago and it made me realise that I need her. You can read all about what happened in Girl In Trouble.  I love her, even if she does scare my friends.

So there they are. The women in my life. They’re all formidable, really, each in their own way. Good job I’m fine with that.

Thank you, Walter, I can’t wait to read more of your story.

51+hUF5E8xL

About Girl in Trouble by Rhoda Baxter

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn’t need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren’t that reliable anyway. She’s got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn’t need to settle down, thanks.

Walter’s ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he’s losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she’s pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he’s ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda Baxter. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you’ll love this series. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk’s I heart novels or Meg Cabot’s Boy books.

Universal buying link for Girl in Trouble: books2read.com/u/4Doy6r

About the Author

rhoda-b-pic

Rhoda writes contemporary romances about smart women and the men who love them – no alpha males here, thanks. She especially likes it when they make her laugh. She is fond of cake, British comedy and Lego Stormtroopers.

Rhoda is a member of the UK Romantic Novelists’ Association and the Society of Authors. Her books have been shortlisted for the RoNA awards (2017), the Love Stories awards (2015) and the Joan Hessayon award (2013).

You can get a free novella (and advance notice of new releases) by joining her reader group newsletter –http://www.subscribepage.com/q3x1y8_copy

You can find Rhoda talking about science, cake and comedy on her website – www.rhodabaxter.com. You can also contact her via Twitter (@rhodabaxter) or Facebook

Rhoda is the author of several novels including :-

Girl Having A Ball
Please Release Me
Doctor January
Girl on The Run

 

Thank you for visiting my blog – Morton S. Gray – Author. I hope you enjoyed this post. You can also find me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. My novel The Girl on the Beach published by Choc Lit is available from all ebook platforms – Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.com, Apple iBooks, Kobo, Barnes and Noble and Google Play.img_2806

About Morton S. Gray

Author of romantic suspense novels. http://mortonsgray.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Character Post by Walter Hanborough, hero of Rhoda Baxter’s Girl In Trouble

  1. Rhoda Baxter says:

    Thanks for giving Walter the chance to chat, Morton. He’s very excited. All his other publications have been somewhat dry, academic ones. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree, Walter sounds a fascinating character leading in a gripping complex story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Round up of News | Morton S. Gray – Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s