WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MY GARDEN… IT ISN’T MINE! By Eva Glyn

This week I’m joined by Eva Glyn to talk about what she loves about her garden. Eva Glyn is a pen name of my friend and fellow Apricot Plotter, Jane Cable. She is celebrating the publication of The Missing Pieces of Us by the One More Chapter imprint of publisher Harper Collins. Over to Eva

Writing about my garden for Morton’s blog seemed such a great idea. Robin, one of my main characters in Eva Glyn’s The Missing Pieces of Us is a gardener so the link seemed perfect. More perfect in fact than my actual garden.

Let me explain. Four years ago my husband and I moved to Cornwall. We wanted somewhere we could lock up and leave to travel, so a garden wasn’t a major consideration, although there is a small north-facing one behind our flat. And here is it, looking at its best packed with our friends. But not much to write home about otherwise.

But actually, we don’t need a big garden, because everywhere we go we are surrounded by beautiful plants. Truro has the most amazing parks department and we always do well in the Britain in Bloom competitions. Nearby there are many gardens to visit, at National Trust and private properties, and as we discovered during our lockdown walks, nature itself gives many gifts.

So I have pulled together a virtual garden from the photos I have taken since we’ve lived here. All of them are in public spaces so if you visit Cornwall at the right time of year, you can see them too.

Let’s start with the shrubs…

A garden always needs structure and shrubs and small trees give rolling year around colour too. The beautiful frosted camelia was snapped in Truro’s Victoria Gardens one February morning, and both the dogwood and hydrangea are from Trelissick. Trelissick is one of Cornwall’s great houses, built (or in this case extended) with money from its mines in the early nineteenth century. The Poldarks dine at Trelissick in The Black Moon, and I have used it as one of the central locations for my dual timeline, The Forgotten Maid.

Filling the borders agapanthus and lampranthus always make me think of Cornwall. Liz Fenwick (a fellow Cornish author) grows spectacular ‘aggies’ in her garden, but this photo was taken at Trebah. It’s one of my favourite places, a beautiful valley just filled with plants, made all the more poignant by the fact troops left for D-Day from the tiny cove at its seaward end. We see lampranthus taking advantage of any sunny wall and this particular one is outside Truro School. The californian poppies and daisies have been borrowed from the Eden Project.

Something for the bees …

So important, isn’t it, and it’s wonderful to see so many more of them around. There’s a big emphasis on encouraging them in Cornwall by leaving verges uncut but the wildflowers were in Truro’s Boscawen Park last summer when the whole planting scheme focused on wildlife and sustainability, including using vegetables in the displays. My husband snapped the bee feeding on a thistle on one of our lockdown walks, so it must have been taken within a few miles of our front door.

In nature’s gift …

Incredibly this apple tree is on a footpath along the edge of the Rive Fal between Tresillian and St Clement, one of our favourite walks. The poppies are on another tributary, next to Boscawen Park, below the point where Truro’s three rivers (and Truro means three rivers) meet. The heather was photographed on the cliffs just above the coastal village of Porthtowan, another setting for The Forgotten Maid.

About Eva Glyn

Jane Cable writes emotional women’s fiction as Eva Glyn for One More Chapter and haunting romances for Sapere Books under her own name. Find out more at www.janecable.com.

The Missing Pieces of Us by Eva Glyn (published 21st July 2021) tells the story of Robin and Izzie who meet again twenty years after their brief affair only to discover their memories of it are completely different.

The Forgotten Maid by Jane Cable (published 3rd August 2021) is set in Cornwall in 1815 and 2015 when two very different women arrive in the county and across the years their searches for acceptance become dangerously intertwined.

To keep in touch you can use the following social media links:-

Facebook @EvaGlynAuthor

Instagram @EvaGlynAuthor

Bookbub @EvaGlyn

Twitter @JaneCable

About The Missing Pieces of Us

An emotional and page-turning family saga perfect for fans of Barbara O’Neal, Amanda Prowse, and Susanne O’Leary!

‘Full of mystery and magic’ Heidi Swain

There are three versions of the past – hers, his, and the truth.

When Robin Vail walks back into widow Isobel O’Briain’s life decades after he abruptly left it, the dark days since her husband’s unexpected passing finally know light. Robin has fallen on hard times but Izzie and her teenage daughter Claire quickly remind him what it’s like to have family…and hope.

But Robin and Izzie are no longer those twenty-something lovers, and as they grow closer once more the missing pieces of their past weigh heavy. Now, to stop history repeating, Izzie and Robin must face facts and right wrongs…no matter how painful.

To buy the book have a look on the following link and if you are quick you might get a bargain – https://harpercollins.co.uk/products/the-missing-pieces-of-us-eva-glyn

Thank you for your lovely colourful post Eva/Jane. Mx

Below is Morton‘s review of the book:-

An emotional rollercoaster. I loved Robin and was rooting for him throughout the book. The fairy tree plays a big part in the story and is almost a character in itself.

At one point when I closed my Kindle, I found myself unconsciously kissing the cover because of the loveliness of the section I had just read – I’ve never done that before!

A book about the twists and turns of life and how some life defining moments can have a big impact and alter your life path. The book also reflects how strangers can be unexpectedly supportive just when you need it.

Eva Glyn’s writing is easy to read and flows beautifully.

Thank you for visiting my blog – Morton S. Gray – Author. I hope you enjoyed this post. You can also find me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Summer at Lucerne Lodge was published as an eBook on 20 April 2021 and now available as a paperback and audio download too – Amazon Check on my Choc Lit author page for other purchasing options here 

International Bestseller Christmas at the Little Beach Cafe published as an eBook, audio and paperback – Amazon KindleApple iBooksKoboNook BooksGoogle Play and Choc Lit for other options.

Bestseller Sunny Days at the Beach is now available as an eBook, audio and paperback – Amazon KindleApple iBooksKoboNook BooksGoogle Play and at Choc Lit for other options.

Christmas at Borteen Bay is available as both an eBook and audio download – Amazon KindleAudioApple iBooksKobo and Choc Lit for other buying options.

The Truth Lies Buried is available from all eBook platforms – Choc LitAmazon KindleKoboApple iBooks and also as a paperback and audiobook.

The Girl on the Beach published by Choc Lit is available as a paperback and from all eBook platforms –Amazon KindleApple iBooksKobo, Barnes and Noble and Google Play.

About Morton S. Gray

Author of romantic suspense novels. http://mortonsgray.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MY GARDEN… IT ISN’T MINE! By Eva Glyn

  1. Love your imaginative approach to gardening, Eva, by collecting plants from many gardens.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carolthomasauthor says:

    A lovely post ladies. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s