Gardens of Inspiration for Victoria Cornwall

I have read and enjoyed all of Victoria Cornwall’s novels published by Choc Lit. We got chatting the other day about our favourite parts of being a writer and I think top of both of our lists was that moment when you hold a paperback of your novel for the first time.

On Saturday 26 June 2021 Victoria’s novel Daughter of the House became available as a paperback for the first time and she got to hold a copy, smell a copy, stroke a copy and no doubt hug it too. Can you tell I’ve been there too? Nothing beats this feeling.

Daughter of the House is the story of Evelyn Pendragon, a lonely girl, who is ignored by her parents whose focus is on her brother, the expected heir to the family’s Cornish estate. Evelyn befriends Drake Vennor, an apprentice gardener on the estate. But when tragedy strikes, she may have to turn her back on their friendship.

Talking to Victoria, she told me that her setting was inspired by fantastic gardens in Cornwall – The Lost Gardens of Heligan, near St Austell, the formal gardens of Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park, Torpoint. The gardens in the book are obviously important as Drake, the hero, is an apprentice gardener. Sounds like a recipe for some lovely days out for the author and maybe for you! You can have a better look at these gardens on their websites, but I have included a few images to tempt you.

The Lost Gardens of Heligan

Mount Edgcumbe House and Country Park, Torpoint

Daughter of the House is Victoria’s fourth book in the Cornish Tales series of standalone stories and has attracted lovely four and five star reviews including my own five star review:-

Escape to Cornwall for a great historical read!

A fabulous book from an author rapidly becoming one of my favourites for historical reads. I loved Victoria Cornwall’s characters Evie and Drake. The book evoked many emotions as I was reading, in particular indignation related to how women were treated in the past. Can’t wait for Victoria Cornwall’s next book.

If you would like to grab a copy of this lovely book you can get your own on the link here.

About Victoria Cornwall

Victoria Cornwall can trace her Cornish roots as far back as the 18th century. This background and heritage have given her an understanding of the Cornish way of life which is the inspiration for her Cornish Tales Series.

In 2021, her novel Daniel’s Daughter became a finalist in the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Goldsboro Books Historical Romantic Novel Award. Victoria has twice nominated for the RONE Indie and Small Published Book Awards in the U.S.A., was short-listed for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romantic Fiction and has been a finalist in the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Joan Hessayon Award. 

She is married, has two grown up children and continues to live in Cornwall, the county of her birth. 


Twitter: @VickieCornwall




About Daughter of the House

The daughter of the house is often overlooked …

Evelyn Pendragon is spirited but lonely, and largely ignored by her parents whose attentions are taken up with her brother, Nicholas: the expected heir to the family’s Cornish estate and the one who will carry on the Pendragon name.

Stifled by her aristocratic existence, Evelyn finds companionship in an unlikely place when she befriends Drake Vennor, an apprentice gardener on the estate. But When Evelyn’s life is thrown into turmoil by a tragedy, she realises just how much she has come to rely on Drake. Will family expectations and the burden of the Pendragon name mean she must turn her back on him when she needs him the most?

Buying Link here

Watch out next week for a post by Sue McDonagh, whose novel A Summer of Hopes and Dreams is published on 29 June 2021.

Thank you for visiting my blog – Morton S. Gray – Author. I hope you enjoyed this post. You can also find me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Summer at Lucerne Lodge was published as an eBook on 20 April 2021 and now available as a paperback and audio download too – Amazon Check on my Choc Lit author page for other purchasing options here 

International Bestseller Christmas at the Little Beach Cafe published as an eBook, audio and paperback – Amazon KindleApple iBooksKoboNook BooksGoogle Play and Choc Lit for other options.

Bestseller Sunny Days at the Beach is now available as an eBook, audio and paperback – Amazon KindleApple iBooksKoboNook BooksGoogle Play and at Choc Lit for other options.

Christmas at Borteen Bay is available as both an eBook and audio download – Amazon KindleAudioApple iBooksKobo and Choc Lit for other buying options.

The Truth Lies Buried is available from all eBook platforms – Choc LitAmazon KindleKoboApple iBooks and also as a paperback and audiobook.

The Girl on the Beach published by Choc Lit is available as a paperback and from all eBook platforms –Amazon KindleApple iBooksKobo, Barnes and Noble and Google Play.

By Morton S. Gray

Author of romantic suspense novels.

1 comment

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: